Bougainvillea and Hydrangea…

20130503-081226.jpg

by Peter Bray

The bougainvillea and hydrangea grow together in the yard,
but one’s spiny thorns
makes the other’s life so hard.
The hydrangea is passive,
its color a softened glow,
while the bougainvillea screams its color,
like everybody ought to know.
About God’s intentions
I don’t have a clue,
but I know the bougainvillea’s
trimming’s way overdue.
So I plug in my hedge trimmer
and give it a thousand whacks,
and it fights my every move
like it’s wielding its thorny axe.

In the end I’m victorious,
the bougainvillea starts to bend,
the hydrangea will now stand tall,
I’m its savior and its friend.
The bougainvillea will recover,
next year we’ll do it all again,
adversaries or lovers,
every garden knows how to mend.

Leave a Reply

